Sarah Hyland graces the December issue of Australian magazine, Cleo

Sarah_CleoMag_Dec2013Sarah Hyland is the December cover girl for Australian young woman’s magazine Cleo and is looking amazing! In an interview with the mag, Sarah spoke about being in Hollywood and her TV show, Modern Family plus more.

Sarah_CleoMag_Dec2013_Cover

We flew to LA to chat to our new girl crush about all things Hollywood and to find out how she’s coping with the superstardom that comes with being in the biggest show on TV. We asked her what she thinks of douchebags people who say women can’t be funny. “Do those people still exist? Wow,” she responds. “I feel like women are funnier than men a lot of the time.  Some of my favourite comics are women, like women from Saturday Night Live – Ana Gasteyer, Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, Kristen Wiig, Maya Rudolph – so it’s just weird to think people still believe that. The best thing in the world is a strong woman who’s comfortable with herself but has the humility to make fun of herself too.”

And speaking of funny women, we also asked her about comparisons between her and Mila Kunis, who she says she regularly gets mistaken for. “I have met her a couple of times and she told me she actually gets mistaken for me as well,” she reveals. “[She] is like, ‘I’ll take it, I will take that I look like a 23-year-old.’”

And on the pressures on girls in Hollywood to fit a certain body image, Sarah says she really envies Jennifer Lawrence’s attitude. “But she shouldn’t be [worried about it] because she has such an amazing body,” she tells us. “She makes me feel bad about myself. I’m skinny – what I wouldn’t do for those curves! But the grass is always greener on the other side.”

But Sarah says she’s not ready to commit to a Hollywood diet of lettuce and exercise just yet. “Sofía [Vergara, her Modern Family co-star] is so healthy it’s inspiring, but she’ll still splurge on a piece of cake every once in a while. She’ll be like, ‘I shouldn’t be eating this, but I’m going to,’ and I’ll be like, ‘Err, you’re fine.’ She knows how to have a healthy lifestyle and I don’t. I’m not ready for that.”

Aussies can pick up their copy from stores and newsagencies now! 

 

Leave a Reply

